Poets logo

Sunrise In Our Eyes

An Ode of Sorts

By Adri SotoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I ran outside, you in my arms, because I wanted you to see it too.

It was the first time I heard you say, “Pink.”

You were so proud, I don’t even think you saw it,

So let me explain.

Darling, did you see the sky?

How it lights up at just the right time.

If you look up between the orange and the gray,

There’s a pink that demands to be seen.

It mixes with the blue, the white, and sometimes even green.

It makes a color unlike you’ve ever seen,

In the moment when it takes the sky,

It means everything.

It means everything is going to be okay,

That you’re going to be okay,

That this home won’t tear us apart,

And you’ll grow up with all that you deserve.

The world at your feet,

Love falling from the trails the clouds leave.

Darling that pink sky is more than beautiful,

Its more than a break in the mundane,

It's our sign to keep going,

Our hug from whoever may exist above,

When the ones next to us aren’t enough.

I could watch it for a lifetime,

As it signals the day goodbye,

It brings back the life that I keep losing,

The life I hope you never lose too.

Will you watch it with me?

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Adri Soto

Sometimes the greatest joys in life are in the worlds we like to get lost in. I enjoy creating them far too much and am always open to feedback!

25-year-old aspiring writer/artist/singer with a daughter to hopefully one day impress

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.