Poets logo

Sunless Rosy

#kittensmatter

By VJHDPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Photo by VJHD

Grey and stray and crusted over

Left by the river to be passed on

Big blue eyes are sealed shut

Tiny paws to be my sight

She cleaned my eyes, they opened

She gave me cuddles and sang to me

Her clothes were warm and soft

I liked to bite her toes

My tummy was sore and empty

I didn’t know how to assuage it

She finally found a way to feed me

It seems that’s what my tummy needed

I’ll play for a while and chase my tail

I don’t know why it keeps getting so dark

The pain takes over in my head

But I feel her there holding me close

As I fall over and shake apart

Maybe this is why they left me for dead

I’ll sleep for hours, she’s got me safe

I’ll play again now my head is softer

The grass is fun like peekaboo

This giant dog seems fun to bop

Where are my cuddles, my tummy is full

But that sunless world is back for me

My head now hard again with screams

She will hold me but it’s not enough

This darkness comes too often now

She called me Rosy and held me close.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This little creature found her way into my heart this weekend, despite my best efforts to not love her. I'm mad at the world for allowing people to dump kittens, I'm mad at the vets who refuse to take them and especially mad at the universe for bringing me yet another soul to lose to the evils of epilepsy.

~

~ There are many morals to this story, a lot one can take away from it, but my heart hurts too much to go over them.

~

Just start by taking your cats to the vet and doing the right thing. If they roam around the neighbourhood they need to be de-sexed.

~

I didn't write much this weekend and missed a lot of prompts on Instagram, as you can see I was pretty busy.

~

But the word prompt challenge 'Sunless' on Instagram, brought this poem out of me as I realised the word ‘sunless’ perfectly describes the mind of someone's brain seizing.

~

I can tell you the severity of watching someone go through it, but it must be so much worse for that soul to endure it alone.

~

The universe sucks sometimes.

~

Thanks for reading 🕊️

~

~

heartbreaksad poetry

About the Creator

VJHD

The subsistence of our lives will live on in our words, forever encapsulating our feelings.

Words are the centre point of our existence. If we never write anything down, did we ever really exist at all?

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    VJHDWritten by VJHD

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.