Poets logo

Sun-kissed

A Summer Sonnet by J.L. Comes

By J.L. ComesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo Collage of my Summer 2016 in Myrtle Beach, which inspired this Sonnet.

"Sun-kissed" by J.L. Comes

Myrtle Beach: my first taste of the Sun’s kiss;

A warm embrace like none I’d ever known,

Where brief engagements were fiery bliss

But lingering lips burned deep to the bone.

I’d tempt my Fate with every affair

Though I knew it could not last forever,

I gave my body to the Sun; I’d share

My flesh in search of its blazing pleasure.

Sometimes the Sun left me with a light glow,

Other times it left a lasting red smack,

But the best made me gold from head to toe:

A sign its heated kiss was right on track.

I remember that summer, full of fun

And those long, heated kisses from the Sun.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

J.L. Comes

Hi I'm Joey! 25 years old. Actor/Singer, Writer, Binge-watcher, Food-lover, Gym-rat, Self-motivated, Sustained by love for myself and others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.