Poets logo

Summer Solstice

By Denyse Schwengels

By ~Denyse Marie~Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Summer Solstice
Photo by Jens Kreuter on Unsplash

A summer day brings its rays,

of illuminating light,

Touching down on my skin,

like the tiny pixels

of a digital photo...

Ready to warm and tan,

my skin again this year...

I take in the pungent minty scent

of eucalyptus,

and the sweet soft smell

of the dancing lilies,

Slowly growing along

the edges of my veranda...



The steady breeze outside,

Feels warm and dry,

My heart with love,

will always comply...

With the fluttering wings

of the monarch butterfly,

As it flitters by,

my wonderous eyes,

So beautifly it flies...



By Angelo Pantazis on Unsplash

Walking down

the steep steps,

I see boats passing by

in the oceans waves...

My feet touch the ground,

They are greeted with

The beachy,

The salty, and the wet sand...

I smile,

looking up to the sky,

Not a cloud dare

to be near...

The sun reigns high above

Today...

Leave it up to summer,

Always in that

lofty and lazy mood...

To show me how

A girl should play,

And dip my toes

in the cool crisp water...

As I tan myself on the sunny

beach,

Of this California bay...

Alas!!

I am home for summer!!

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

~Denyse Marie~

Star

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.