Poets logo

Summer School

Switching off and finding rest

By Catherine MyersPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
1
Summer School
Photo by Scott Graham on Unsplash

Don't.

It is not worth your sanity.

School is out until August, and you deserve the summer to unplug, unwind, and unravel the ball of stress that keeps you awake at night.

Teacher.

Reading, writing, and arithmetic. The three R's and all the rest.

Another year comes to a close and still, the work isn't done. Still, they want more. Still, they demand more. Still, they pile on more.

Can't they see all I need is to be still?

They say that those who can, do; those who can't, teach.

I've always hated that line. It distracts from the fact that, whether Shaw likes it or not, I am Superman. I use my x-ray vision to see qualities in students that they do not see in themselves. I use my super strength to lift them up when they want to give up. I use my super stamina to teach the same lesson and give instruction in a hundred different ways over and over again making it better every single time. Those who can, do; because they got superpowers from those who teach. But even Superman gets to put on some glasses and be Clark Kent for a while.

On the last day of school, they asked me if I would commit to four weeks of summer school. For the first time, since I started teaching, I said

N0.

listsocial commentary
1

About the Creator

Catherine Myers

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.