Poets logo

Summer's Not for Me

A Sonnet by Julie Lacksonen

By Julie LacksonenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
48
Photo by Andrea Piacquadio, Pexels

It’s summertime and I can’t stand the heat.

The kids are going crazy. Help me, please!

They’re bickering is playing on repeat

It’s like they’re coining new social disease.

*

The neighbor’s barbeque is blowing smoke

My allergies are going quite insane.

My air conditioning is quite a joke

I’m praying for a nice, refreshing rain

*

Mosquitos seem to know I’m easy game

The welts are keeping all my friends at bay

My weeds are drawing residential fame

Yet all the plants I want just wilt away

*

This summer thing is not my gig at all

And I can’t wait for school, and crisp, cool fall!

slam poetry
48

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sandra Tena Coleabout a month ago

    Aw, bless you Julie! I'm the same way! Your humour and creativity put it so well 💖 I hope this incoming summer is better on both of us than it has been over the last few years xx

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.