Poets logo

Summer Memories

Do you taste it now?

By Gena AdamsonPublished about a month ago ā€¢ 1 min read
6

Captivated by the summer sun.

The heat is starting to hit me now.

The face is wet but the mouth is dry.

Parched with thirst after all the fun.

I hear my grandma shout my name.

"Right in time!" I loudly think.

"Hope she wont notice my bare feet."

She does and scolds with shame.

But what is that I see in her hand?!

My absolute favorite! WATERMELON!

The mouth waters and eyes grow big,

It's my favorite fruit in all the land.

Cut into perfectly pinkish triangles.

The first bite. Mmm crispy and juicy.

It's flavor packs a powerful punch

enveloping taste buds at all angles.

I find myself incredibly happy,

quenched by it's unique sweetness.

Grandma picked the best of the best.

The sensation overwhelms me.

I look down and it's gone.

Did I really eat that fast?

Nothing but the thick skin is left.

A bit disappointed, but I move on.

Guess I'll go back to having fun.

Next time, I'll appreciate it better.

I lick my lips for the last taste,

and head back to the summer sun.

For Fun
6

About the Creator

Gena Adamson

Writing has always ignited my soul on fire and helped be an expression of my authentic self. Although, for years I didn't believe in myself and have rarely shared!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Basit Ali23 days ago

    WOW! GENA YOU ARE A NATURAL WRITER. YOU HAVE GOD GIFTED ABILITIES TO FRESH MEMORIES BY HAVING THE ABILITY TO GO IN THE PAST AND MAKE IT PRESENT. YOUR LOVE TO PLAY, GRANDMA'S LOVE AND CARE, YOUR OBEDIENCE WATERMELON AS FAVORITE AND AGAIN BACK TO PLAY BREAKING THE SPELL OF WATERMELON; FANTASTIC PICTURE OF CHILDHOOD MEMORIES. LOVE AND RESPECT TO YOUR INNOCENCE. GENA ONE THING MORE, I AM FEELING A WISH TO WRITE A POEM IN RESPONSE TO YOUR POEM "SUMMER MEMORIES".

  • Manisha Dhalaniabout a month ago

    It's so hot where I am. Bought some yesterday - so so so good. Love your poem!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Watermelon is one of my favourite fruits! Your poem was nostalgic and wonderful. I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.