Poets logo

Sugarcane fields

Shondawho

By ShondaWhoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sugarcane fields
Photo by Abhishek Shintre on Unsplash

I remember that day.

The sunset sat on the edge of the world and a canvas of the sky was the view. Redefined sight, my pie-crusted eye's awoke to a mosaic window where a grown-man lies could do no harm.

Carrying his mind through storms.

He lay dormant for a kiss of life, yet his lips ripen with fruit.

No bark. No bite.

He'd loan you his teeth to speak words of venom.

He'd sell you his head for one tranquil night.

He'd pray with his eyes open to see the truth.

I remember that day.

Fungus gnats flew over sugarcane fields. The decaying body of a man--- once crooked, twisted, yet veins still pumped of holy water and church bells.

Who knew death could still spew piety?

As he lie there, restless yet rested. In sugarcane fields. Where men told lies. Women wrote songs. Children laugh & God cried.

I remember that day.

I watered the flowers. Hoping one day they sing for me when my brother marchers a prayer meant for another man's soul. To only let my dreams and visions sit banking in a nest, where red cardinals play messenger to my humanity.

I remember the day.

I saw death tell a man no secrets.

That's the day I sung a prayer for tomorrow.

by: Lashonda Midgett ©

@Shondawho

performance poetrysurreal poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

ShondaWho

•Published Poet/Writer

•Proud College Student

•Creatively breaking down my mind to expand yours 📖

--------------------------------------------------------------------

*About Me*

◇ Gay Black Female

◇ Storytelling, Poetry, Spokenword

◇ I ❤ Spring

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.