Poets logo

Sugar and silk

hallways and hell days

By SouluminosityPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Sugar and silk
Photo by Andrea Ferrario on Unsplash

Some days I miss when the world seemed so big and the stars seemed unreachable. I miss piling sugar in my sweetened cereal, then watching the milk descend like silk into a porcelain dish. And that spilling any of it was my biggest challenge for the day.

And then I think about the days that calm was the only tasty thing I craved. Because slammed doors, curse words, and broken trust were thrown around so high, they ended up in the attic of mind, in a dusty box that I have to look through from time to time when I try to figure out why I'm afraid of being too close, but hate being so far away.

Some days I miss having crushes and giggles in the middle school hallways that smelled like cheap perfume and puberty. I miss my school's administration being my second family, in my mind at least. People who commanded what they needed instead of yelled because they didn't know their wants.

Some days I sit in the sun and watch the breeze swirl by me. It's normally big and bright and colorful. So I try to paint with it, let the intrusive thoughts rummage around in my mind about my past just so I can hastily evict them. Then put them on this canvas, the sky, and call them clouds.

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Souluminosity

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.