Poets logo

Suffocating Anxiety

Me

By Kacey PlantPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Laying here, frozen, I am suffocated by my thoughts, running round and round and round my head. A rope is being wrapped round and around my neck, suffocating me of my words and holding my breath. My chest rises rapid, irregular, short, and sharp, making me panic. I'm scared of the dark.

I'm scared of the dark, the dark that is approaching. I know it's creeping up on me, but not when it's coming. I'm not quite sure what it is or what it will be, but I know it will be worse than this, it has to be.

I struggle to catch my breath, constantly on edge, not knowing who or what or when. I try not to think but it's just so hard; one thought then the next and then it starts. The spiral.. Spiraling.. When will it end? From one length to the next I never know where I'll end up, I think to myself, 'so what is it tonight is it death or just losing breathe?'

There's a drop in my stomach when the thoughts arrive, it's like they are eating at my stomach, making me sick, pushing further and further down the more that i think. I tell myself I'm stupid, snap out of it, STOP. But it's not that simple.. is it?

I'm not quite sure how I got like this or came to panic so much, I never used to be like this but I guess that's just my luck.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kacey Plant

writing my mind

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.