Poets logo

Sucked Into Stupid

pick a vowel

By Brenton FPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
10

sometimes i can't even rely upon

being sucked into my own stupidity

i try real hard not to get caught

in games of my own device, making and choice

that strong coffee, i drink a lot of

appears to be my latest detrimental effect

it makes my stomach tear vicious little knots in itself

i'm pinging i’m hurting and i’ve got no time to reflect

this list i have of the things i'm not allowed

grows exponentially by the minute i swear

it’s not more than í reckon that i think i can handle

and just a little more than i thought i would care

so glad of all the tips and pointers i received along the way

and now i find they are worth more to me than wealth

someone else had to make some of those mistakes

cause i didn’t have the time to make them all myself

sometimes the where's and why's of where i wind up

are as a direct result of being sucked into my own stupidity

something inside me gives it all a big green light

an illusion inside a delusion is not a solution

social commentarysurreal poetry
10

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrew C McDonaldabout a year ago

    So true for us all. Great work Brenton.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    You are so amazing with words. I felt so much of this. We are our own worst critics. I'm glad you've had people along the way you feel you've learned from! ❤️ I felt the part about the coffee tremendously 😅

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Well Done!!! Loved it!!!💖💖💕

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    Great job with this one, Brenton! Especially the last line--that was powerful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.