Poets logo

Submerged

Capsized and Retrieved

By Melissa EavesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Submerged
Photo by Anastasia Taioglou on Unsplash

When I stepped from the depths of the waters

i looked and beheld

a loud voice

saying

come and see

oops i accidently plaguerizing the book of revelation, but the words are so

timeless

ageless

resounding

forever

So I take a step into the night

And my soul soaks the breeze

A lonliness that is almost welcome

Like a familiar friend

Comforts me,

Momentarily I blink

My eyes heavy

For another’s lack of sleep

What is rendered

Is diabolically retrieved

As my hands float at my side,

And I laugh,

After 30 seconds of purposeful pressure

They rise

Another ruined moment

Brings more promise of reprieve

Oh god, the neighbor says

It’s a conspiracy, meanwhile she plots in secrecy

I pray simplicity

Wakefulness

Freedom

From a toxic culture

And it’s disease

And I looked and beheld

Signs and wonders

Modern marvels

And artistry that fetched my minds own creativity

And stretched,

It

To

The

Limits

Capacity

Endurance

Perplexity

Hope driven lusts

And panic given

Pressures recedes

Time comes now,

For peace

For safety

For freedom

Fried chicken and some wholehearted

Dancing

Away from oblivion

And it’s nihilists

And boars

So, I was flooded

Drowned

And floundering

My mind bordering

On surviving the days

Behind

Stood

Weeks,months, years

Aloof from me

My own

I had fallen overboard

And landed in a train

Intent on derailing

Kinda like the Pelham 123

So I held on

Costs

Dearly

On and on

Until

The crash 💥

The evacuation,

And the retrieve.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Melissa Eaves

I am an freelance writer. I love the written word and the poetry of my soul is expressed by mastery of it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.