Poets logo

Submerged

Under the Sea

By Pamela Walsh-HoltePublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Submerged
Photo by roy zeigerman on Unsplash

I know its true because it happened, you see!

When I was a young girl I awoke from my sleep

I ran to the front room in one giant leap.

Pulled open the curtains to let in the sun,

rubbing my eyes, I stood there stunned!

My home was completely submerged under the sea

and schools of fish swam about where my toys use to be!

Beautiful coral of every color,

replaced the landscape that was before.

Every type of sea life I had ever known

from the very smallest to the largest grown,

had now made my neighborhood their home!

The beauty and splendor was almost to much

My finger tips longed to reach out and touch

as if doing so would prove it all to be real.

As my head spun as fast as a roulette wheel

with thoughts of how I would survive!

In this environment I could not thrive,

there is no way I will remain alive!

I found myself racing back to my bed!

I jumped in and pulled my covers up over my head

I must have fallen fast asleep,

as I prayed to my Lord for my soul to keep!

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Pamela Walsh-Holte

Retired social worker seaking to find my name among the "Chreators we are Loving", but alas it has not been so. Be still my heart, do not despair, your day may come...Until then I wait, anticipating some, be it ever so slight, recognition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.