Poets logo

Submerge

a poem about one's desperate desire for freedom.

By Sophie GarciaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Submerge
Photo by Alice Alinari on Unsplash

I slowly walked towards the bank,

my small feet were bare and bruised.

Against the thick snow, they sank

deeper than the shoes I refused.

*

The vast lake was quiet and still

as I slowly dipped my toes in

the black icy water until

cold had settled on my skin.

*

The heat in my body was gone,

my wounds started to numb

submitted to the raw sensation,

and now I began to succumb.

*

I spread my arms and laid down

as the biting cold wrapped around me

my eyes closed, prepared to drown,

finally, the pain had set me free.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Sophie Garcia

A hobbit. | Instagram @dennyjeantoo

Author of poetry book Bittersweet: An Anthology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.