Poets logo

Subconscious Poison

Get Outta My Dreams, You're Not In My Life

By Misty RaePublished about a year ago 1 min read
14
Subconscious Poison
Photo by Olesya Yemets on Unsplash

I feel your touch and taste your kisses,

Both sickly poison,

Too sweet to resist, too deadly to want.

My hatred of you runs deep,

Coursing through my veins, like blood,

A life force of its own.

Not hot,

Not cold,

Not bitter,

Just the tepid sting of indifference,

A bland nothingness for a bad nightmare long past.

Yet here you are,

In my high school hallway,

Against a row of lockers.

Mine is 1321.

They're melting, hot cheap steel,

Dripping hues of blue and gold,

The school colours that ruled my youth,

Onto freshly-polished linoleum.

A poorly fitting vestige to match your poorly fitting pants.

You're 30 years too soon,

And 20 years too late.

Yet I feel you.

Near me,

On me,

I feel sick.

Panic wells up in my gut as the crowd gathers near,

Cheers and jeers, thunderous,

And then, we're gone.

Change of venue.

A forest, thick and dark.

Running,

Crying,

Trying desperately to escape something foul.

Something so sinister,

So soul-crushingly dangerous,

I just can't breathe.

No air.

Nothing.

I can't move.

And I jolt from my slumber, breathless,

Shaking,

Sweating,

Frantic,

Until I look around and realize,

It was all a dream.

surreal poetryslam poetry
14

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Love the intensity in the poem . Hearted

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    A word painting of excellence from a vivid dream. 🥰❤️ I think this challenge is quietly sponsored by the International Psychotherapy Association.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Yuck! Those disturbing. nightmares - I could feel it - well done!

  • Interesting piece you put together there

  • Wonderful Dream Work

  • U.Rdiyaabout a year ago

    wow... well written.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Super, superb, subconscious, sleep nightmare💕💖😊

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Nightmarishly good .Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.