Poets logo

STUCK

AN ODE TO ADDICTION

By L. Erin GiangiacomoPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Like

STUCK

DAY BREAKS

SUN BEAMS SLITHER

THROUGH THE DRAPES

LIKE HISSING SNAKES

HOW LONG HAVE I BEEN AWAKE

SOMETHING TELLS ME

TIME TO MAKE MY ESCAPE

BUT I’M STUCK

FROZEN IN THE MUCK

DOWN ON MY LUCK

SMOKED TWO GRAMS AND A BUCK

NOW I CAN’T EVEN FUCKING GET UP

COCAINE EYES

PUDDLES OF LIES

IN A SHAKY DISGUISE

FOR LEAKY ALIBIS

I’M STUCK BETWEEN

CHURCH BELLS

AND PRISON CELLS

MY DEMONS MY DESIRES

PHONE CALLS TO

MY SUPPLIER

I FOUND HEAVEN

IN A PIPE GLASS

GOD’S MASTERCLASS

FOR PIRATES WHO’VE CRASHED

TOO MANY WARSHIPS

FROM A LIFE SPENT AT SEA

WITH ONE SAIL INSTEAD

OF THREE

SO FUCK YOU

AND FUCK ME

I SPENT THE RENT

ON A COCAINE SPREE

TWEAKIN ON SOMEBODY’S COUCH

FORGOTTEN OR DEAD

IN SOME NASTY TRAP HOUSE

JUST ONE MORE HIT

BEFORE I DIE

BROKEN BIRD

IN THE SKY

FLY HIGH FLY HIGH

BROKEN BIRD SAY

GOODBYE

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

L. Erin Giangiacomo

I'm a writer because I can't hold a job and I have no friends. B.A. English Literature, J.D.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.