Poets logo

Strong man

Do what you must

By Laura ToddPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I killed a man again today

He offered his coat

It was cold outside 

I took his pants too

Left him just his pride 

We went for a swim

Though I don't know how 

He held me up high

I float alone now

Now I'm alone in the world

I need a strong man like they say

Tough, unfeeling, made of steel

I killed a man again today

Working through the night

Working every day

Work into the ground

But, boy, does it pay

Many men to kill

Sent him off to fight

Whoever survives

Will decide who's right

I was ambitious 

I wanted to fly

He took that faith leap

I kissed him goodbye 

his leap of faith saved

Me having to try

You feel no pain and

I tell you no lie

Your eyes will close as

I kiss you goodbye 

Come, let's have a drink 

You know that you've earned

Poison pleasure cruise

Like your father learned 

Don't let them see you sweat

Ignore that aching chest

Real men don't need a heart

Let's put that to the test

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.