Poets logo

Street Crossing 101

A message for young men everywhere, dedicated to T.J.

By F.D. BrakePublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

To the young man

So nonchalantly crossing the street

Please pay attention

I guess nobody informed you

That you were born on the unofficial

Endangered species list

I know that youth

Requires you to assume an air

Of invincibility

But your destruction

Has been purposely planned

The traps are laid and set

Just waiting for you to step in

Please pay attention

Don't let a humbug

Or a technicality be the downfall

That ends a dream unfulfilled

There is unlimited potential in you

That hasn't even begun to grow

I can visualize a bright future

If only the right seeds are sown

I don't know you

But I was once young

Careless and care free

Don't get the words confused

Cause with time I've learned

People like you and me

Can afford neither one

Now that I know

What a special gift

Has been given to me

This life that I'm living

And if you give yourself a chance

You too will learn the value

Of your gift too

That this gift isn't just about you

Your course

Your path

The direction you chose to take

The good as well as the bad

Decisions you make

Don't just affect you

Think of the others

That become involved too

Sisters and brothers

Aunts and uncles

Your father

Your mother

Future generations of daughters and sons

That are counting on you

Or they will never be born

I know that's an awesome

Responsibility

Please pay attention

Open your eyes and get focused

Our time here is short

No matter how long it may be

Short

Don't cut it short

heartbreakinspirational
Like

About the Creator

F.D. Brake

A resident of Cary North Carolina. I am a Marine Corps. veteran, retired postal worker, photographer and poet/writer. The expression on one's face as they enjoy a well composed photo or well written verse, has always been a real pleasure.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.