Poets logo

Stream of Days

Poem based on Tasha Hussein’s work

By K SavinPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Stream of Days
Photo by Alp Duran on Unsplash

The Stream of Days by Taha Hussein can be classified as a detailed intriguing story of a boy with only four senses. The story focuses on a day in the life of a blind boy who is being taken care of by his brother. Throughout the story, the reader comes to realize that the boy is abandoned a lot. Sometimes at the Azher to listen to lectures. Other times left in a corner at their home while his brother goes off and does things with his friends. The most common theme is the boy's thirst for knowledge. Without the use of his eyes, the boy must rely on listening in order to learn anything. While at a lecture, he becomes annoyed that the teacher is rambling and not actually teaching anything. When at home and being forgotten by his brother and his friends, the boy strains his ears to be able to hear anything he can. He becomes happy even when he can only hear an echo of voices. Another theme could be the boy's loneliness. Even without the use of his eyes, the boy can be included in most things but his brother is always abandoning him or simply just forgetting about him. This loneliness is also reflected in the boy's response to darkness. The boy literally lives in darkness, but becomes scared and depressed when the lamp is not on.

The Azhar fills me with security and rest,

Like my mother’s brushing kisses, warmth fills my chest.

It is quiet, I can feel the caress of the morning breeze.

Calm and gentle, the teachers' voices are full of ease.

Dumped at a lesson, left to listen to the rambling words,

Waiting impatiently for the words of tradition that my mind prefers.

Silence for all my senses, an oppressive gloom,

Left on a rotten worn-out mat, alone in the room.

Ignorant of my wants and needs, just creating a hullabaloo.

Voices bursting through the window and down the street too.

Hunger, my hand travels in a hesitant, apologetic way,

Colliding with a criss-cross of the hand array.

Left alone and waiting, abandoned at class.

Dragged home and deposited with no relax.

I hate solitude, blank and unending isolation.

Must stay in the corner, an ashamed and anxious situation.

Avoid surprises for I live in perpetual darkness,

Surrendering my remaining senses to sleeps’ calmness.

Awakened then abandoned, shadows closing in.

A lit lamp would have driven them away from my skin.

Bugs and small animals scurry within the walls.

Protectors, watching over me with their claws.

Brother returns and turns on the lamp, soothing my mind.

The serenest quiet and my mind combined.

vintage
Like

About the Creator

K Savin

Mid 20s | Artist | Aspiring Writer

I have some designs on Redbubble and follow me on IG, @savintheart

Mixed Media Artist. Traditional and Graphic Designer.

Delaware born and raised.

DM for Commissions and Art Prints on IG

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.