Poets logo

Straw Man

fallacy in the flesh

By Jacob ShermanPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
3
Straw Man
Photo by Xianyu hao on Unsplash

If I had a voice, I'd tell you a story.

It'd be glorious, too, it'd have war, egomaniacs,

bad guys and brainiacs,

romance and espionage.

I'd make a collage of borrowed devices,

with every intention of returning.

I'd spin you a synthetic yarn that entices,

that appeals to your escapist yearning.

And speaking of that pretty caged bird

whose song pumps the blood through your veins...

her, I'd straight-up steal.

No forgiveness, no permission,

just a wish in one hand would be all that remains.

If I had the vision,

I'd watch her flutter to freedom

after I'd let her go,

then I'd see everything there was to see.

If I'd any cognition, I'd know what's to know.

If I had skin, it would ache

for the touch of yours.

If I had ears, I'd never have to fake

that I hear your cry as it implores,

as it begs me to be, to be.

But I'm deaf, dumb and blind, true,

need I remind you?

I'd do it if I had a brain.

If I had a heart,

despite all the pain

its reckless throbbing would cause,

I would urge you, quickly,

don't you dare take a pause,

fly away, while you still can...

silly me, I'd forgotten,

I haven't got hands

with which to disengage

that despicable lock

on that reprehensible cage

and allow you to return to your flock.

If I had a voice, I'd tell you I'm sorry.

surreal poetrysad poetry
3

About the Creator

Jacob Sherman

The desire to read, and perhaps to write, should be cultivated and nurtured with care throughout every stage of life. For my part I will inject what strangeness and truth that I can into our written history. Expect no constants but honesty.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Abby Kay Mendonca12 months ago

    True Poetry. Your style is something special. Loved it!

  • Brenton F12 months ago

    This is really good, so many snappy lines and the heart felt regret at the end KUDOS!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.