Poets logo

Strangled by Money

A Poetic Journey Through Financial Hardship

By RamyaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Strangled by Money
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

I wake up each morning with a feeling of dread
Another day of struggling to keep my head
Above water, bills piling up high
I feel like I'm drowning, no matter how hard I try

The cost of living keeps rising each day
I'm stretched so thin, I'm starting to fray
My job pays peanuts, I can barely survive
But I can't quit, I need to stay alive

I've sold all my possessions, down to the bone
But it's never enough, I'm still alone
In this endless cycle of debt and despair
It feels like nobody could possibly care

I see others with money, living it up
While I'm counting pennies, barely enough
To make it through the week, let alone the year
I'm trapped in this cycle, it's my biggest fear

I've tried to budget, to save what I can
But it's a losing battle, I'm just one man
Against a system that's rigged to keep me down
Strangling for money, I wear a perpetual frown

The stress is unbearable, it's taking its toll
On my health, my relationships, my very soul
I wish I could break free, start anew
But the thought of bankruptcy, it scares me through and through

So I'll keep fighting, one day at a time
Hoping for a breakthrough, a glimmer of a sign
That things will get better, that I'll find a way
To break free from this cycle, and live to see another day.

buyers guidesocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryhow toheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Ramya

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.