Poets logo

Straitjacket

The Shadow

By Alex-Sandra NunyaPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am stuck. I can't breathe.

Everything around me slowly fade away.

Illusion of a better life.

it's funny, I can't feel my hands anymore,

don't ask me what's wrong , I don't have a clue.

Probably nothing, but i'm sick,

so in a split second, nothing can easily become everything.

Imagine, you're laying on the couch,

reading your favorite book for the thousandth time,

and suddenly a Shadow come and sit next to you.

The more it stares at you,

the less you're able to move.

Your breath shift, it's fast, sharp,

but still, you can't move.

And it stares at you,

not moving, not talking.

Sometimes, if you're unlucky enough,

it'll whisper to your ear,

convincing you that you became your strongest fears

you become the darkness. The Devil.

The loneliness, the killer clown.

You still can't move.

Your eyes are still open.

Your nostrils are moving so fast,

you're scared you'll start to fly.

Your whole body is as stiff as a mountain,

but your inside is crumbling down

As you try to remember how to breathe,

you become stuck in your own body.

Your arms turned into a straitjacket.

Your legs turn into steel

and your mind become the asylum no one ever escape of.

You try to remember what you've learned,

What you're suppose to do,

when the darkness takes over the light.

But the only things in your mind,

Are those high pitched screams.

Your screams.

So loud, you want to close your eyes.

You need to be stronger than the Shadow.

Breathe in.

Breathe out.

You have to turn yourself into a light house.

Breathe in.

Breathe out.

If the Shadow is a night sky,

turn yourself into the moon.

Breathe in.

Break the straps that your arms have become.

Shut down the asylum in your head.

Don't let the Shadow win again.

Breathe out.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Alex-Sandra Nunya

Hello hello human being! I've been writing since I know how to hold a pen. It's the strongest and only passion I have, i'm french but i love English, so please don't be too harsh, i'm doing my best! Tell me what you think of my work! xx

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.