Poets logo

Straight to the Point

A Poem

By Melina GiorgalletouPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

it’s like you suddenly wake up and there you are

with everyone burdening you with expectations

and pressures to be the person you always wanted to be.

it’s not like you wake up and suddenly become a different person -

at least, that’s what they think happened -

but truth is, change happens slowly.

the heart moves on dramatically

and the brain functions as fast as your heartbeat.

So what makes me so slow to the moving on part?

do I like to keep ahold of my failures in life

or the fail that I call my love life

because it brings a poetic side I never thought I could hide?

what’s in me that burdens me to hope for something more?

are the burdens coming from people around me or

the imagination of my brain pressuring a better version to come out of me?

would I listen if I were told to become worse than what I am?

to be given bad habits of smoke and delusions of plants

or the forsaken love story that one cannot give yet

but can fake it until they make it?

a fake love story that might bring false hope and joy

but might internally become real once you forget

that it’s not real

to be given the wish upon that star you wished

that night at your home country

wishing you had him in your arms

worshipping you as much as you’re worshipping

the thought of him right now?

who are you thinking of right now?

is it one of them?

is it a mix of them

the mix of the feelings they give you

that might not even be real?

that could have been fake?

that could have been a delusion a plant gave you

as a wish to forget the failures of

that part of your life?

do you wish to change

because others wish you to?

I promise you that it doesn’t work like that.

if you really want that change. that strength.

that controversy to go against anyone that dislikes

you or doesn’t find you enough -

then you will become the person you always wanted to be.

fake it until you become it.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Melina Giorgalletou

Just a college student from Cyprus, living in NYC, trying to find herself through words and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.