Poets logo

Straight and Narrow

One day I'll write a song you deserve. This isn't it.

By Violet P. DaviesPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
1
Straight and Narrow
Photo by Cajeo Zhang on Unsplash

I've found a beautiful life

An idyll of green, where all I do is sing

And I'm desperate to show you the sights, sometimes

The tranquility could almost be enough for me

.

I don't want to hurt you, but I'm thinking about it a lot

I'd be callous in the moment, but sorry long before I was caught

I remember how love feels every time I see you

And in between I wonder why I'm not blue

I just wish you were here to keep me on the straight and narrow

.

My memory has always been clear, yet now it's failing me

My thoughts an echo chamber of the faces I always see

What's wrong with me?

How can I let all that we meant slip out of focus

Then smoothly return to where we were now that I know this

.

I don't want to hurt you, but I'm thinking about it a lot

I'd be callous in the moment, but sorry long before I was caught

I remember how love feels every time I see you

And in between I wonder why I'm not blue

I just wish you were here to keep me on the straight and narrow

Song Lyrics
1

About the Creator

Violet P. Davies

Words make me feel fulfilled occasionally.

Keep track of me on Insta @purpleproseandposies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    I loved the repeating lines, it did seem like a song. Loved it so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.