Poets logo

stowaway: a petrarchan sonnet

(remember these moments)

By hannah beckinghamPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
photo by hannah beckingham

the whirr of the propeller on the nose of my fugitive flight to the mainland shook even my hand, waving to that island. my body: weightless as the plane that rose over the town, and the sea, and the girl, then into the brightness, high over the plains. and my eyes: wide, and full as my thumping veins. and my vow: to return, though not knowing when.

looking north, to Kili, I was made small at the sight of that postcard-perfect peak. and my every cell ached to break free, to be with everything and nothing at all. with every word in the world, I could not speak. that vast landscape below, now part of me.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

hannah beckingham

A nurse, sister, daughter, auntie, sober alcoholic, recovering debtor, nomad-at-heart, preacher's kid, over-thinker, dog-lover, new-to-my-40s queer cis-woman, teacher, reader, writer and netflix-binger sharing some thoughts along the way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.