Poets logo

storms

(in me)

By Sara Published 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
25

i waited

for the day

i would learn

to hate you

instead of pining

for your love

that never was.

i waited for beautiful

rage

that would warm

my heart

because you never did.

i waited for fury

to take me

like a storm

and wash away

my longing

for your smile.

but it never came.

and i still cannot

hate you

even though

you took away

the light in my eyes

and the wild in my soul

and you do not even know

that you did.

legs dangling

off the dock

i look to the white sky

with no clouds

and pray for lightning

to strike.

heartbreak
25

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Morgan4 months ago

    This is great! Heartbreaking and relatable. Beautifully written!

  • Evelyn Reads4 months ago

    Really beautiful!

  • Bew4 months ago

    Your compelling and skillfully written story kept me eagerly anticipating the next developments, skillfully blending emotions and suspense for a truly captivating experience. I'd appreciate it if you could also take a moment to read my work!

  • My Life care ideas4 months ago

    Nice article, You can also join my team and subscribe for free.

  • Merrie Sanders4 months ago

    Love this. Beautifully written.

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    The beginning was just as impactful as the end! Really sad and frustrating, yet gorgeous work! Well done!!!

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Superb ending!

  • It's beautiful!

  • Test4 months ago

    Excellent ending!

  • Tressa Rose4 months ago

    I felt this. Very beautifully written ❤️

  • Lindsay Sfara4 months ago

    Wow, what stunning and beautiful writing. Wonderful work, and congrats on top story!

  • Margaret Brennan4 months ago

    first of all, congratulations on your TS status ... NOW, WOW just WOW This poem is awesome. I felt that way the day my first left home. I sat with my two young sons and wondered what would happen to the three of us. Then, I woke up. Or rather, my heart did. I realized the man I fell in love with wasn't the man who left. The man I fell in love with died somewhere along the way. Since the man who left was a stranger, I had no feelings one way or the other. My sons and I made a new life and were happier for it. But, your poem certainly hits home for me. Did you, by chance, crawl into my head and see my memories? Love this.

  • Alisha Wilkins4 months ago

    Beautifully written. Feels like a page out of my own life. Life will improve. Love will come again. And we will learn to live again.

  • G. A. Botero4 months ago

    Amazing. I especially loved these lines " i waited for beautiful rage that would warm my heart because you never did."

  • Anna 4 months ago

    So heartbreaking... hope you're getting well

  • ❤️&🕯️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.