Poets logo

Stop Trying to Be Perfect

What is perfect anyways?

By Jennie CKPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
Am not a supermodel nor do I want to be

I've never believed in myself

I've always put myself down

I would cry out why can't I be as pretty as them

I'd look at my body and grab at all my fat and say to myself why can't

I just look like that

Confidence has always been an issue for me

I've never believed anyone thats complimented me

I look in the mirror and all I see is this reflection of what looks like me

But I see myself I say no that really can't be me

Because the person that I am seeing looks prettier than me

So I put on my clothes

So no-one can see all the fat that I have on me

Black clothing is near enough all I wear because it hides all the fat and it makes me

Feel that nobody stares

I eat a lot of junk

I must admit but

Chocolate and ice cream is my comfortness

It helps to take away some depression and am actually impressed by my own honestness

I don't like to wear makeup though it may cover up my ugliness

I prefer to have a natural look even though people stare

I look at myself every chance that

I get to see what makes others react to this

Because when people are staring at me

it makes me feel worse then ever before about myself

Especially when they stare then talk to someone else

Because it makes me feel like their talking about me

Though, to be honest, why should I care

I'm not a supermodel from a magazine and nor do I want to be

But I'd like to be skinnier and feel differently about myself yeah I know am not perfect but that's ok

Cause if I can't be me then why be somebody else no-one is perfect no matter what they say

No point in pretending to be perfect anyways

I don't want to pretend am perfect like most people seem to do

Am just happy trying to know and be the real me

Perfect isn't what I want to be because if perfects what am truly looking for then I should just be happy being me

Cause perfect is not a good thing to be so don't even pretend that you are

Because perfect is nothing unless you can love who you truly are

If I was asked what perfect meant to me

I'd say to be perfect in anyway is just to be who you are

And no matter who tries to put you down just love yourself and be proud

Don't listen to what others have to say because they ain't perfect either

No matter how hard they try to be

Perfect is over rated and to be perfect like I say just love who you are in every way, each and every day

Written by Jayjay Jennie (c)

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Jennie CK

27 single mother of 3 or as I like to call them my monsters 3 they have made me, me I wouldn't be the person I am today if it weren't for them guiding me through all the ups and downs in our lives

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.