Poets logo

Still Pale White

The only Color that Matters is a Beautiful Soul

By Susana's WorldPublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2

Here I stand in front of the mirror; two of me.

One inside the shiny glass and one outside.

Living in the margin of a world gone crazy,

Pale White.

Years spent under the sun hoping to turn golden brown like maple syrup on griddle cakes.

Like you.

We were young watching the colors twirling, swirling in and out of life.

When forever was forever.

Laughing on that Ferris Wheel, walking sawdust roads to the smells and sounds of America.

Cotton candy stuck to our fingers.

It's the Fourth of July.

You were the dark to my light, loving my translucent skin that sat beside the beauty of your heart.

We knew each others smile.

We heard each others words.

Now, facial lines beyond my years, I hold your acceptance in the dusty corners of my mind.

Where once I held your cheek,

Smooth as molasses in the glow of the sun.

And I am Still Pale.

And you Still Dark.

But we Still Know the Truth.

Somewhere in time we remember the only color that ever mattered.

The only color we ever saw before somebody said we did not.

Was a Beautiful Soul.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Susana's World

It is here I write about things that matter to me, and perhaps to you.

My words journey backward, forward and in-between, musing at this crazy but still beautiful world I was placed in.

For now.

Time is precious, so thanks for joining me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Susana's World is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.