Poets logo

Still looking

Home throughout my years

By Kat PondPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

It was always a happy place

Bright, cheerful

I was loved and I was happy

I got restless

Tired of staying still

I went out into the world

And for a while, it was good

I made new friends

Found a new home

But I wasn’t good enough

They didn’t want me

I tried to die

They wouldn’t let me

I was sent home

But home wasn’t there anymore

It was an echo of what used to be

I was more restless than ever

He was hurt and I wanted to help

She tried to kill me

I had to run away

I don’t know anyone

Even two years later

I had to make a new home

But I’ve failed

This isn’t home

It never was

I’m lost

I long for what home used to be

Warm, loving

Happy

Maybe I can have that again

A place to call home

Or a person

Or a feeling

For now I’m still looking

And I’ll look until I find it

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kat Pond

Aspiring to be everything at once: a spy, assassin, scientist, dragon, a hermit. With the limits of physical reality I can always be all these things in dreams and stories.

Instagram: @castrophia_dragonwitch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.