Poets logo

Still Goin’ Stupid.

The closes imma get to a diss track.

By De'Viar WoodsonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

I’m sorry you felt like no one ever really had your back,

It used to feel like we ran this city,

The city that’s always been quick to attack.

But you were always someone,

that wasn’t quick to look back.

I’ve taken a page from your book,

And I’ve written it in mine,

Thanks to you, I’ve learned…

No matter who is and who isn’t in my life,

I’mma be a’ight.

I got the fun times to look back on,

And the life lessons,

But you left without a word,

And had all of us guessing.

So much has changed,

So much has happened,

If I saw you today,

What would be our reactions?

Would you speak?

Would I even speak?!

Have you matured?

Have you accepted reality?

Or are you still fake mad at me?

Rearranging events in your head,

To make them make sense when you go to bed,

Where’s your accountability?

I hope that seed, gave you the knowledge you need.

Because believe me,

Your Self-Awareness was truly lacking.

Paying the cost of your actions,

Broke you down like a fraction,

It was a life changing moment,

Even I couldn’t believe what was happening.

But if there’s one thing I can give you credit for,

No, two,

No matter what life threw at you,

you kept at it.

A true hustler in every right,

You’re not someone who’s easy to fight.

I still hope for nothing but success,

In everything that you do, in life

Whether you eat with me

Or without,

I’m blessed to have had you on my team.

And as for me, if you were wondering,

I’m still going,

Still Goin Stupid.

fact or fictionexcerpts
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.