Poets logo

Stereotypes

Think outside the box.

By Nubian MisfitsPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Power

You think I’m loud?

You haven’t heard me yet.

Just wait. Oh I think you had your chance.

Stereotypically I’m not educated.

To the world my life is a BET show and movie. My hair is beautiful magical curls and my body has curves in all the right places.

You call me fat, when in reality I’m Plus size. I’m someone Plus your confidence and Plus your wisdom and spirituality.

Bigger is better in all cases and I’m living prof.

You’re society.

What do you look like?

You hide behind a screen.

You hide behind your privilege, so you have no shape, size, dimension or depth.

Just so you know I’m a Black women. My heart is a vision of the future. My soul is a mirror from the past.

Skin smooth as butter. With a tent of Carmel glistening.

You may think you know me.

You may think I don’t have a voice.

I HOPE YOU HEAR ME NOW!

Black women this is our time.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Nubian Misfits

Hi I’m Nubian Misfit aka Melanin Vibez. I love writing and photography. I hope you enjoy my creations.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.