Poets logo

Steps

the journey home

By Shauntelle SmallPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Steps
Photo by Brian Yurasits on Unsplash

Against a twilight backdrop,

we pick our way through the tangled net of the jungle,

wander past the ackee trees and the mangoes.

My feet tread heavy,

stumble over the papaya leaves.

You are my barefoot guide. Barely up to my waist.

Take me to the white sand beach,

let the waves lick our feet, accept kisses

from the ones before us.

Lead me through the sugar-cane valley of our ancestors,

across an island peppered with the footprints,

of a family I have never known.

Teach me how to catch crabs with a butterfly net,

how to climb the neck of a coconut tree,

how to speak the language of the island breeze.

Show me what it means to belong.

Your small hand in mine is the first step.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Hanna Kennedy2 years ago

    This is beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.