Poets logo

Stepping Stones

A memoir

By Nneka CallwoodPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I had become a smooth stone, beaten by a surging river;

Helping the passerby cross to the other side.

All of my hard edges have softened.

Where once I was rigid; the waters have shaved me, shaped me, remade me.

For what other purpose does a stone in a surging river serve,

than to help others cross.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The river teaches one patience.

To sit.

To wait.

To watch.

To release the hard edges that no longer serve you.

Why yes, I do recall when I was but a turtle attempting to cross a surging river.

Looks like its about time to get moving again.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nneka Callwood

Just a tree, planted by the rivers of waters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.