Poets logo

Step and Fetch It

I'm Not That Man

By Dan R FowlerPublished 13 days ago 1 min read

Step and Fetch It

Life filled with hustle and bustle everyone running,

For the left and from the right so many cunning.

It’s a time filled with “get it done,” slogans,

But few are thanked or even given a small token.

Humanity’s purpose or what was, has lost its way,

Making people wonder what’s happening these days.

Undertones of hate from almost every angle,

No matter the speeches or how many carrots dangle.

It’s a “step and fetch it” the world’s voices demanded,

Do as you’re told or face being reprimanded.

It’s a time when we’re unable to have our own mind,

The think, to speak, to refrain from being unkind.

Forces around us pushing to and fro,

Expecting us to still make everything go.

It’s a “step and fetch it” world demanding my loyalty,

Instead of showing me a reason I’m shown cruelty.

So, in response to everyone’s cursing and yelling,

To be their “step and fetch it man” this I’m quelling.

It’s just the principle of the situation I must uphold,

I’m not your “step and fetch it” man, I must scold!

The “step and fetch it” time has long since passed,

Where you yelled expecting me to run or dash.

If it’s something that you want me to get or do,

It will remain undone it’s something I won’t pursue.

vintage

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran12 days ago

    Whoaaaa, this was extremely powerful! Loved your poem!

  • Amazingly done your work and accept my respect!

Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.