Poets logo

Step

An Ode to Getting There

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
11
Photo: Pixabay

So basic, I can't even remember how I do it.

Could you describe what it's like to take a step?

Think about how it starts --

(If you have to get up and go through the motions first,

that's okay. That's what I had to do.)

It starts with a delicate shift

and sway and lift,

a moment that hangs in the balance

between you were and you will be.

Then, forward!

No movement without friction

(and for some of us, without pain).

Get this: as you push off from the earth,

you push the earth away,

equal and opposite reaction.

A weighty notion -- anyone can move

the world with just one step.

(The effect is infinitesimal,

but satisfying to know.)

Then transfer weight, release,

lift,

and the future becomes the present.

You are one step closer to --

well, where were you going?

What do you expect at the end of your steps?

fridge altar door diploma toy bathroom vista arms crib casket ...

The end, that is truly how it starts.

No step without wanting a somewhere that's not here

and trusting yourself to move,

even if you only begin

by pushing back the past

just an infinitesimal bit,

and lift, and land,

and again.

inspirationalhow to
11

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    The way the step marks time, the way the step lifts and uplifts, so vividly rendered in this ode. Fantastic, and full of an interplay of complex thoughts. You made me think differently the same things I've thought about it! Excellent work.

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    Very relatable and inspiring 🥰

  • Oh my goodness. This is one of those poems I’d want printed in a book so I can read it again. I hope you place with this because it’s fantastic, so many phrases I could pull out and applaud but done in such a natural way, like you’re not trying too hard to be prolific or deep, you just DO it!

  • Ward Norcutt9 months ago

    Pushing back the past is simply a wonderful image. It sticks in my noggin. I wish I had written it

  • Sonia, this is remarkable. The way you have woven the simple act of taking a step into time, hopes & dreams, destiny, etc. is absolutely compelling.

  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    Dear Ms. Sonia - Such a StoryTeller with heart - Love that! This 'Rolled' so close for me. If you have a moment please see 'Wheelchair Etiquette'. No you don't have to read it, just go to the bottom to see how I've improved, it's all in the 'tude Thank you for this J-Bud

  • Suze Kay9 months ago

    Sonia this poem is ethereal! This tiny, universal moment you’ve put under the microscope and given new life. I love your description of the ‘steps’ of stepping up - breaking down the movements into discrete shifts and given fresh meaning. Gorgeous gorgeous work.

  • Oh wow! This was so powerful and a very creative take on the challenge!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Super & superbly written!!! Loved this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    This is bloody outstanding, Sonia! Love your musings on this and the line that starts "fridge" is genius! This deserves to place!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.