Poets logo

Stealing Time Through Scraps Of Paper

Ode To The Backs Of Envelopes

By C. H. RichardPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
24
Photo of a dream by C.H. Richard

Many a moment

I am chasing,

The perfect time

To be found

And captured,

Somewhere lost

In the schedule

As though

The space of perfect

Really exists.

Instead, what usually becomes

Is stealing the second,

In a parking lot

While scrambling through

The day’s agenda

Reaching for the scrap

Of miscellaneous paper

The back of an envelope

For a bill already due

Some political advertisement

That needs my attention.

Opening of the latest

Take out place with coupon.

Becomes the canvas.

For a poem, a story

Or just a written word

The place, the space

Of a dream

Still waiting

For the perfect time.

performance poetrysad poetryinspirational
24

About the Creator

C. H. Richard

My passion is and has always been writing. I am particularly drawn to writing fiction that has relatable storylines which hopefully keep readers engaged

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    So much more character than the Notes app on my phone 😳

  • J. Delaney-Howe9 months ago

    I enjoyed this. I write notes, thoughts and ideas on whatever is handy when the idea or inspiration comes. Otherwise, I lose it. ;p;

  • Denise E Lindquist9 months ago

    This just reminded me to go through my purse for those papers with writing on them.😉😂

  • Ava Mack9 months ago

    Wonderful work, C.H.! I love the image of all those miscellaneous scraps of paper all originally created for something different, but serving a new purpose as a field for creation!

  • Gina C.9 months ago

    Oh my, this is dreamy and thought-provoking, Cindy! Gorgeous words and phrases!

  • Sian N. Clutton9 months ago

    I loved reading this. Simple and beautiful 😍

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    Beautiful!

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    OMG - This is perfect. Extremely relatable!

  • Beautiful, so well done, loved every part

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Oh wow. This is excellent. Great job.

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    So relatable & clever Cindy! I especially loved the ending! Great job!

  • Omgggg! I write on the back of envelopes too! Loved your ode!

  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    I love this so much. I too write things on any scrap available to me. I like when I lose them and they show up in random places. Awesome poem

  • Do I take it we share at least these aspect of our writing style together?

  • Lynda Spargur9 months ago

    I have so many scrapes of paper in my desk, on my desk, in my backpack, my pockets and at work. LOL It seems writers have that in common. Any piece of paper will do. Well said!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Cindy, guess I am not the only one writing on the back of envelopes!!! This is fabulous & loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    Great object, wonderful ode Cindy!

  • Veronica Coldiron9 months ago

    Something about this had me thinking of soft jazz in the background and took me back to a jewelry box my grandmother used to keep that was full of old letters. This is a great poem!

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Well done, Cindy!

  • Brilliant 😉📝❤️

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Clever and so true! Thanks for sharing!

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Beautiful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.