Poets logo

State of Belonging

What You Never Knew Is True

By Sarah Faith EthridgePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Cracks from the fire, in the rarest form tonight.

The pop, then sizzle, the next meat to cook on the grill

In this midnight summer heat, I’m mesmerized.

I drive my toes into the dampest bank of unexpected love

I look grateful for all before; who is standing & what will fall?

Actively shading my face from the light, so that I can bare to look forward.

I render fragments of what I comprehend as real.

I breathe in refreshing air; in the belief I might develop fins, any chance given.

When you caught fish, I mirrored a crab instead. My face never seemed serious before. Even more so, too serious now that I am afraid.

I love the taste of smores, warm juicy center with perfectly crisp exteriors.

It inspires all my taste buds to gander in simple speculation.

Why are we not more grateful for the times caught together inside of photographs?

Why do we assume that you are – I am-- one click away?

A father builds a treehouse and never considers it a home,

Glide on top of all the water so that you will not fall in,

Do not look down below, you have yet to begin

And believe in the journey that you are travelling through,

even if you do not know what current trend is due.

Set sail and know that the course is correct, despite times when temperament fails you,

Move forward, yes, once more again.

A lake of peace laps you, the chance given, take a chance to drink it all in,

BREATHE- You belong, understand, welcome inside.

nature poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Faith Ethridge

Hello! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Sarah. I enjoy writing as much as I love to sing. I am also a gaming enthusiast and stream live content like cooking, or whatever project I'm working on at the time! CLICK HERE! Hope to see you there!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.