Poets logo

Starry-eyed by Moonlight

A Poem by Keila Aartila

By KJ AartilaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
7
Starry-eyed by Moonlight
Photo by Michael on Unsplash

Through starry eyes, I squint to see

the universe quick closing in

upon the sleepy moon. Before the skies

all fade to black, I know I must take action.

***

Maybe I can hitch a ride, belted to Orion;

Is this what life is all about?

Here begins my secret journey;

save the lights from going out.

***

Through the Sisters, I will soar

delighted with flight’s freedom.

Upon a beacon, I shall land;

align the northern kingdom.

***

Peg will fly me to the face

to rest my milky vision.

I then will peer down, mesmerized,

though way’s destination.

***

Stardust leads to magical sights

in a night time star show.

It’s up to each to make the grab,

to shine within the glow.

Thank you for reading!

surreal poetryinspirational
7

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Absolutely beautiful! A starry adventure ✨❤️🥰

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Lovely💕😊💖

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is so freeing, like taking a deep breath. Well done.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    You have such a lovely way with words. I felt like I was soaring through the night sky. Well done :)

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Beautiful

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    This was so vivid! I felt it! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.