Poets logo

Starlight Can't Pass

For sun

By Amy ChristiePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

Shadow won't come inside,

keeper of candle,

avenger

or denier,

I come to this gate

in the night,

I cannot find it in the sun,

bright morning covers door,

I can't get out,

I wait for darkness

to embrace what's left

of anguish embers.

***

Open the gate,

let me take shelter inside forest

cold, velvet love

the one I chased

the one that ended

my spirit

and each hope.

***

I still go after sunset,

I know not where the pebbles hide,

I search, my eyes tired of petals,

ready for fire rainbow

into this nightmare that unfolds

each time I feel warmth close

each breath I hold

in kindness, laughter,

and the song

that can shatter the ghosts,

they are my friends,

I can't say no,

I won't let go.

***

Mind flows inside a stream

of endless memories,

unloved,

unseen,

adored in sight, not soul

beloved for a while,

left in a precipice

a birthday cake that's got no taste,

no color,

and no wish,

where have I been

why have I stepped so far, so deep,

I can't turn back.

***

Sweet fragrance hides the snakes,

I see a threat in every tree,

can I trust flowers once again,

let them show path to yearning

a new wish,

dew glistens when sun goes,

it waits for second chances,

desire to melt

inside waterfall

where have I gone,

where can I stay,

can this doorstep be mine, ours

once more?

***

Hurtful remembrance

of doorways closed

and shattered,

of hugs that turned to ice,

of mornings inside blight,

searching shadow under the sun,

I will go on,

come back,

stay by my side.

***

© 2022 Amy Christie

Photo credit: Pexels

Originally published on Simily

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Amy Christie

Passionate writer and journalist, striving to create meaningful connections.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.