Poets logo

Starfire

The Brightest Little Light

By Sara WilsonPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
2

There was a meteor shower a few years ago

The bright lights, the colors, oh what a show!

Something else also fell from the sky that night

enveloped in color, surrounded by light.

She was tiny and soft and a sight to behold

She was so cute, or so I was told.

But it wasn't her looks that drew you to her

It wasn't her whiskers or her delicate purr

The love in her heart was the actual treasure

Her kindness, her warmth, couldn't be measured

She'd always be there to catch every tear

To laugh or to talk you through every fear

Starfire is special, and she's one of a kind

And the love she gives is impossible to find.

Years ago when I found out I was pregnant with my first child, my Aunt sent me a message congratulating me. She was the very first person to do it. Babies were never considered good news in my family. I had just started getting to know my aunt and I was in my early 20's. Divorce, family differences, and drama had kept me from building relationships and getting to know a lot of family on my dad's side.

She started sending me cute pictures every day and requested that I draw one for her. I never made the time to do it because I was always so busy with my new baby and my new life after leaving behind everything I knew. I regret that now.

A few years ago, she passed away.

Only then did I find the time to make the drawing she had requested. I felt so guilty not doing it sooner because this woman had gone above and beyond to show me so many things I needed as a kid and never got. After I made the drawing, I shared it to her Facebook page. Not long after, my cousin messaged me asking if I could turn that drawing into a doll. I immediately did it. This poem accompanied that doll.

The doll is made in her honor and named after the Facebook page she created. The poem is about the character, but ultimately her as well.

Moral of the story, don't procrastinate when it comes to the people you love. You truly might be on your last day with them.

art
2

About the Creator

Sara Wilson

Lover of the strange and unusual. I write mostly horror or true crime. I occasionally publish other things, but try not to write only for the sake of having content. Feedback is always welcome and appreciated!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    aw This is beautiful Sara! Stunning tribute! Bravo! Life sometimes makes obstacles!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Beautiful poem to go along with the beauty of inspiration and the wonderful tribute. Amazing work, Sara.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.