Poets logo

Stalker

Our perception of what is real, what we can endure as the truth, becomes our reality.

By Lisa MastersPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

The human mind may allow itself to endure and to survive calculated, relentless attempts by another to systematically break down and reconfigure it. The human mind may also allow itself to emerge from such attempts!, not unscathed, but unbroken, free.

STALKER

Stop spying on me,

You want me to spin in circles -

Yet I am still moving forward.

Stop spying on me,

I can feel your gaze-

Blatantly hiding nearby.

Stop spying on me,

I know you're there watching,

And so I behave accordingly.

I’ll tell you a secret,

Your threats aren’t working-

They no longer terrify me.

I'll tell you a secret,

I see it as a complex movie-

With an ending I can rely on.

I'll tell you a secret-

I've embraced indifference,

So I'm feeling no way, or another.

I'll keep it with mine-

The truth of your infractions,

If you leave here immediately.

I'll keep it with mine-

Not to protect you,

I continue to protect me.

I’ll keep it with mine-

To ensure my own safety,

And so you will go, it’s time.

Is this a mission-

To ruin and destroy me?

I see you holding steady.

Is this a mission?

Of mine, to defy you?

By maintaining my composure?

Is this a mission?

To understand, why

I need to fully forgive you?

I declare myself free!

I Pretend you are gone,

Adding layers to the illusion.

I declare myself free!

This is what it looks like,

Operating within forced delusion.

I declare myself free!

And as such, it is true -

You're Dead to me, I am rid of you.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.