Poets logo

Stab Me With a Pen

Ink leaks from my heart

By Tina D'AngeloPublished about a year ago 1 min read
21
Stab Me With a Pen
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Stab me with a fountain pen and I will bleed ink.

My black embryonic fluid will splatter into letters, words, and sentences on sheets of creamy, white paper and pool at my feet when I fall asleep, head on the desk, clutching the pen in my stiff hand.

My insides will splash and stain the nearby walls with confused ramblings and carefully edited thoughts that have been bouncing off the walls in my brain for as long as I’ve been able to think.

Can anyone remember the first thought they ever had? The first tear they ever shed? Their first nightmare?

I can.

The crazed mist of memories is all here, tucked neatly into the never sleeping beehive under my skull. How can humans not go crazy? So many thoughts fighting for a place in our heads. Every day more thoughts crowd into that finite space.

Stick a pen in my vein and let the thoughts drip out onto the pages before I lose what little sanity I have left. Any pain in there? Bleed it out onto the screen before me, so I can understand it. Regrets? Many. They live rent-free in my head until I pour my inky blood out onto hungry pages, looking for redemption. Dreams? They are gone. Taken by my past.

Writing is a sick business, done in the dark by sick people.

surreal poetryslam poetryheartbreakart
21

About the Creator

Tina D'Angelo

G-Is for String is now available in Ebook, paperback and audiobook by Audible!

https://a.co/d/iRG3xQi

G-Is for String: Oh, Canada! and Save One Bullet are also available on Amazon in Ebook and Paperback.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Charlene Ann Mildred Barroga2 months ago

    raw and sometimes painful process of pouring one's thoughts onto the page with haunting eloquence

  • Jay Kantor4 months ago

    Dear Tina - Sorry I haven't heard from you; I'm always in the wrong pond. But, thought of you when I sent this family 'Schtick' out. We both are always interpreted by readers/especially when they 1/2 read. Someone wrote me back saying, ''Ooh, I'm so sorry about your Aunt Frieda"...You say, I "Crack you up.." I hope in a good way? Sent this to friends/ family as a 'Goof' of course. Too much Schmaltzy stuff going around; just me being me! My favorite 'Family' Type missive this year ~ Happy Holidays, Gams-Gigi  ~ L'Chaim ~   Family Update: ..." 1st some good news. Jay found a furnished studio apartment on the Hudson River. It's an exclusive gated community called Sing-Sing, and he shares it with his new roommate, Buba. The lodgings come with free meals and the use of an exercise yard the guys share with 1,700 other like-minded gentlemen. Now the sad news: Jay thinks it may be impossible to join us this year; maybe in 3 to 5?" "....Aunt Frieda passed away in April. She lived long enough to say her last words: "Just GO we can make the Light." So, what else? Other than Frieda being wiped out by a truck. Jay being incarcerated, just the same old~same old. *Ooh, just got a text from Jay. He and Buba have escaped and will be joining us for holiday dinner after all. Say an extra prayer. - Find some smiles this year -

  • Test7 months ago

    Super!!! Excellent story!!!

  • ANFAS8 months ago

    nice

  • MecAsaf8 months ago

    Fantastic work

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Evocative writing - great work. Just arrived her via Paul’s post. ♥️☺️

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    Dark but beautifully so! I am glad I found this!

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    This is so relatable but worded beautifully. 'How can humans not go crazy?' is such a good line. And that ending was just perfect.

  • Well, you have pretty much captured my essence. So in spite of all my protestations to the contrary, does that mean I'm a writer? Incredibly well splashed across the screen, Tina.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Awesome!!! Left some love!!!

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    I love this. I submitted something kind of similar yesterday, and it got rejected. I think I went overboard on the gore. Oops. It got accepted today though. I feel like I've spotted a kindred spirit here 😁

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    I keep seeing your name around and didn't think I had read anything yet by you, so chose this one. This was spectacular, for at least two immediate reasons. Firstly, it's written so well and expressed so well. I never feel like my brain lets me get rest or peace, so I relate so much to that and secondly, I wrote in one of my notebooks last night "If a writer doesn't bleed when they write, did they really write?" - it's not a complete thing, but was just a line that came to me in the quiet of the night. Nice little coincidence. Anyway, well done with this one, Tina and I am now subscribed.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Truer words have rarely been written so plainly. You don’t usually go so dark, I hope everything is okay.

  • Mark Gagnonabout a year ago

    Are you having a bad day? Definitely exhibiting the dark side of writing. Very engaging though.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.