Poets logo

Spring Is Ending, Summer Will Come.

A short, free verse poem written from the perspective of a Ukrainian soldier.

By ApogeePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
photo courtesy of: Pexel images

It is snowing now. Is this what spring looks like?

How is it that spring reminds me of this war which we now experience?

Spring is oft harsh, and yet - it never lasts forever.

The summer comes next, and the sultry sun cordially tucks the cold clouds away.

And as the tired soil laps up the gleaming sun beams,

The weary sunflower lifts its head, rejuvenated with a fresh new hope.

And besides it, the wonderful orchid sings its jubilant song -

And for a moment, all is well with the world.

But not for now.

Now, the hunting hawks of war cast their ominous shadows to the floor below.

For now, injured and betrayed, our homes appear as contorted wrecks of lumber and steel.

The harsh dissonant cacophony of shelling wails bitterly nearby,

and the low staccato rumble of distant gunfire advances aggressively.

Can you hear the fierce clattering and hisses of the merciless shrapnel as it falls on all alike?

Above, the eerie screams of grim rocket motors shatter the air,

Even as the hum of the helicopter rotors bounces off the walls.

All the while, I hold my dark rifle coldly in my hand.

And yet, somehow, I know – I know that the spring will end, that the summer will come.

I know that the Clouds will go, the flowers bloom, and that the war will end.

And because I know, my heart stirs a little within, and it grows warm -

Just as each Ukrainian’s will once the war is truly won.

Wish me courage now, and steadfast resolve.

For I wish to serve my countrymen well, even as they have served me.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Apogee

Thanks for checking out my bio! What can I say? If you have read some of my work, I hope you liked it. Likewise, I relish the opportunity to discover some of the beautiful work done by my fellow writers. You guys are awesome!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.