Poets logo

Spring Has Sprung

A Poem About Spring

By Rasma RaistersPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
1

I walked beneath,

a sky as blue,

as the deep blue sea,

as blue as sparkling sapphires,

while the sun brightly smiles down.

My feet kept,

upon the path,

to see that I didn’t,

trample upon the bright,

colored flowers all about.

Golden dandelions,

creating a yellow brick road,

daisies nodding in the spring breeze

and wild purple violets rising up to meet the sun.

The trees were bending in the breeze,

as happy and tall as can be.

waiting for their coats of green.

Everywhere spring had sprung

and I was followed along,

singing with the babbling brook,

free from the winter chains,

that had held it frozen and silent,

for so very long.

A cheerful bird chorus,

above my head,

they hopped about the branches -

like in a mad spring dance.

While below I spread my arms,

twirling about,

dizzy with the beauty,

that was more potent than any wine.

Oh, world how lovely you look,

this time of the year!

How wonderful to see,

to be a part of it all.

I wandered to the river

and saw the gulls,

having flown in from the sea.

They merrily danced,

upon the ripples,

blown by the gentle wind -

yes, spring, spring has sprung!

©R.Raisters

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Rasma Raisters

My passions are writing and creating poetry. I write for several sites online and have four themed blogs on Wordpress. Please follow me on Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.