Poets logo

spit

a summer sonnet

By Dane BHPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Third Place in Summer's Day Challenge
27
spit
Photo by Caju Gomes on Unsplash

We ate the watermelon on the porch,

on splintered steps that threatened our bare feet,

when we had finished lunch - the sun, a scorch

of fire in the sky. We spat the sweet

and sticky bites of juice and seeds as far

into the grass and weeds as our small lips

could purse. As oldest child, I set the bar -

my mouth and stubborn patience could eclipse

the efforts of my sister. Cousins, too.

But on this day, a seed went sailing past

the target I had hit. It went straight through

the roses - hit the birdbath with a splash!

That day, my reign as watermelon king

collapsed. At least the sweetness eased the sting!

nature poetry
27

About the Creator

Dane BH

By day, I'm a cog in the nonprofit machine, and poet. By night, I'm a creature of the internet. My soul is a grumpy cat who'd rather be sleeping.

Top Story count: 17

www.danepoetry.com

Check out my Vocal Spotlight and my Vocal Podcast!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.