Poets logo

Spiritual Strength

"He may look nice..."

By The Vivid DreamerPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2
Photo credit: Black Sheep Art by The Vivid Dreamer

I felt that if I wrote how I feel

It would look as if

My heart would survive

On paper.

Until I noticed I was

Writing

In red ink --

A reminder of the investment

of my blood,

For the passion I have for people

And the sacrifice you made

For me.

I know I can physically survive

Yet

Emotionally, I'm dangerously

Under arrest

From the distress.

Eyes burn on me

With exposure

For the zeal I overly use

The storm of tears is an

Indication you want me near.

Your garment

We both agree silently

I need to touch it.

I remind myself another night

"He may look nice"

Yeah.

"But God is the man that'll show you

That you deserve to be treated right."

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

The Vivid Dreamer

Awkward to love. Quick to give. My reality is within my words. Esteemed Queen saved me. My life is a bestseller.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.