Poets logo

Spirits' Blessings

Nightly visitors

By Dan R FowlerPublished 21 days ago Updated 21 days ago 1 min read
2

Spirit Blessings

Torrents of rain upon my bed,

While dreams splash about nothing said.

It’s that kind of night again things waking me,

Thumping and shaking things I can't see.

It’s not usual for the night to be angry,

Causing what sleep I may have had to flee.

For it’s the world beyond the day before,

That punches holes in the darkness to adore.

Come fanciful visitors, tipsy-toeing all around,

Those who hide in shadows some pretending to be clowns.

It is you who bring stories and memories back to me,

As the night’s long fingers touch me unceasingly.

Be kind I shout as I raise my drowsy head,

Cupping my hands over my ears to hear what’s said.

But the scenes remain a mystery between them all,

Bringing images of winter, spring, summer, and fall.

In the darkness standing away from me, I see,

Other vapors and mists wishing to speak to me.

They turn to whisper some secret I can’t hear,

Of times and people and the ones they hold dear.

They come to visit me as they’ve done before,

In the shadows holding onto the love that I adore.

For it’s my family’s images that I see again,

As I wipe away the years of sorrow to begin again.

Please stay and spend some time with me I say,

Come in the nighttime or even in the day.

For to be with you is one of life’s greatest blessings,

Like angel’s wings, my heart and soul they’re caressing.

surreal poetryvintage
2

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. https://www.amazon.com/Verge-Dan-R-Fowler. Completed 41 novels since 2017. Screenplay being shopped by Voyage Media, LA, CA

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ruth Elizabeth Stiff21 days ago

    Beautiful poem, ty for sharing xx

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.