Poets logo

Spirit of the Motherland

Worried About My Children

By Nelly BlackPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

I am the Spirit of the Motherland from distant waters I've come to see how my children have fared I worry about my sons and daughters As any mother would who cared

I refer to those stolen away ones that foreigners took to other lands Beyond the setting of many suns Ripped from my very own hands

As any mother would I followed closely behind To see what their plight would be Who knew the horrors that I would find or the anguish that I would see

My children wore chains and were beaten with whips And for naught some were even killed The cries of their pain rent from their lips Till death left them silent and stilled

I turned away in horror and wept Then left them to their fate Hopelessness is what I felt What could I do but wait I went home and cried up all my tears Now anger has replaced my sorrow The days have turned into many year But I will do battle tomorrow

Return my children back to me I've come to take them back home Loose their bonds let them go free Restore unto me mine own But I see no chains They're not bound What changes have there taken place It is a great wonder that I have found What now do my children face

What warriors grew out of my loins To lead my children free They must have been proud and brave and strong to gain such a victory Look there... It's one of my young ones How strong he seems to be The power and speed at which he runs Tis a joy for this mother to see

But what of the strange powder he takes He's putting it in his nose I see And what of the strange moves he makes His actions are unknown to me New masters have children chosen But still they wear a chain They've learned nought their minds are frozen Their shackles do still remain

Hear my children flee this path Listen to your mother's plea Now shame has replaced my wrath Shake loose your bonds Go free...

I wrote this poem for a very good friend and second grade teacher to perform on a black history program that she chaired. I didn't realize at the time that I was being filmed as I recited it. I've been to many churches and schools to performed this poem and the sequel to it that I wrote much later. I also performed this poem at a maximum security prison for their black history program and received alcaldes from the TDOC state employees. I was told that it tells the story of slavery from leaving Africa to living in America, gaining freedom and allowing the vices in the world enslave them again.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nelly Black

I love writing stories (series) that have the reader sitting for hours just to find out what's next. I also write songs plays books and poetry. I love it when people enjoy my writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.