Poets logo

Spinning Webs

This poem is about how women compete and turn on each other.

By Amanda ZylstraPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

She spins webs around me.

Like a black widow spins a cocoon around its prey.

She wants to paralyze me and then suck out all my good intentions.

This is the price we pay for letting others into our hearts.

Their room may get smaller but it never goes away.

I am on the outside looking in.

I see words fueled by insecurities.

I see an unwinnable war between two people who used to be friends.

Words are weapons.

Neither of us is willing to put down our pens.

We continue to bad mouth each other to anyone who will listen.

This is the jealousy and resentment that lies in the brains of females.

We are programmed by society to destroy each other and to compete over men.

Men we may not even want but feel the need to fight for.

We are taught as children to constantly compete with each other.

From the outside looking in, I have beaten her at her own game.

And I hate her for putting me in a position that caused the vicious side of me to come out.

I hate her for breaking my trust and telling everyone secrets I had confessed to her.

This sword is forever stuck in my back.

It pierces through my heart.

I am mortally wounded.

My trust issues run rampant.

I want to hide from everyone except a select few.

I write off of this pain.

I spin my own web.

I turn this pain into something beautiful.

I am a queen who feels she is being attacked by the media.

The enemy stands at a podium and spits her hate speech about me.

I surround myself with better people now.

Those who are willing to spin a web of protection around me and that I can trust with my secrets and insecure truths.

Surround yourself with those who are willing to defend you and protect you from the vicious people out there.

Beware who you trust as your truths and secrets could be exposed to anyone at any given time.

Always be willing to own up to your past mistakes.

We are only humans who spin webs around each other for our own gain.

Keep your friends close and enemies closer.

*This poem is featured in my upcoming book "Peeling Sanity"

Check out my Author Page on Facebook!

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorAmandaZylstra

Check out my Poetry!

https://poets.media/authors/amanda-zylstra

Check out my Music Articles!

https://beat.media/authors/amanda-zylstra

Check out my Beauty Articles!

https://longevity.media/authors/amanda-zylstra

Check out my Makeup Articles!

https://blush.media/authors/amanda-zylstra

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Zylstra

Cat Lover, Poetry Writer, Tea Drinker, Skincare and Beauty Product Obsessed. Check out my poetry collection "Passing Skeletons" available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.