Poets logo

Spine

A disability poem

By Josey PickeringPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Spine
Photo by Joyce McCown on Unsplash

My nerves ache

my vertebrae shift

like the spine of a well read book.

Open and exposed

too many times.

Scalpel to flesh,

metal to bone,

sliced to find

my foundation has cracked.

The roads I’ve walked

can no longer hold me

and my legs can no longer

walk the paths meant for me.

My bones twist,

joints gnarled.

I dreamed of dancing through stars

and now I can only watch them from

my place on earth.

I am trapped by

the birdcage of my body.

Rooting into my perch

like some sort of tree,

my own broken back bonsai.

Thank you for reading! I’m a disabled, autistic author and poet and I appreciate every reader who graces my account.

performance poetry
3

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.